Built by George and Magnolia Sealy in 1889, their home, known as Open Gates, stands as a reminder of Galveston’s gilded age and considered by many as one of the last great romantic buildings of the 19th century. It was designed by the premier architects of the country, Mc Kim Mead and White of New York with construction supervised by the premier architect of Galveston, Nicholas J. Clayton. Tickets are on sale now at http://shop.galvestonhistory.org!
1n 1840, the Galveston City Company deeded a four block tract to the City of Galveston for use as a burial site. The Old Catholic Cemetery, one of seven cemeteries within the Broadway Cemetery, is on one of the original four lots. More than 1,500 people are interred in the cemetery. Bishop John M. Odin, Texas’ first Catholic bishop, in February 1845 acquired the deed for the cemetery two years before establishment of the Diocese of Galveston.
Located in Galveston, Texas and saved from demolition in 1971 by Galveston Historical Foundation, the 1859 Ashton Villa is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and is a Recorded Texas Historic Landmark.